My Crafting Adventures: Jewelry

I have written SIX crafting adventure pieces and still haven’t done one on my jewelry making. That all changes now. You guys know you love my shameless attempts at garnering compliments.

 

You guys might realize by this point that I am not a ‘girly’ girl. But I cannot leave my apartment without a necklace on. I feel weird and naked without one. I feel like everyone is looking at my neck. Even though I logically know they are not.

20141011_210209

This one is a fossilized buffalo tooth.

By this point I have hundreds of necklaces. I have bracelets and have recently been venturing into earrings. My etsy is full of my jewelry for sale.

 

But everything I am going to post on here is from my personal collection and not for sale. It’s not even all of my personal collection. These only get seen if you happen to be looking at my neck. That is the curse of being a crafter. You want to save all the best stuff for yourself.

20141011_210134

Jade dress robe weight that is several hundred years old.

My father has been collecting beads and making jewelry for over 50 years. His jewelry makes the things I am about to show you look like they were done by a child. A gifted child, but still. His work is fantastic.

 

Sometime when I was around 13 or 14, I asked him to teach me how to make jewelry. He and his first wife invented a form of micro macrame with beads and stones at Woodstock. They moved to California and gave away necklaces on the beach. I mentioned that he was a total hippie, right?

20141011_210230

Charoite center bead.

So he sat me down and very patiently showed me how to do it. I practiced for hours until my hands cramped and everything I was doing seemed meaningless. Like when you say a word to many times until it is just noises and nothing more. And then I said, fuck this shit. I’m never going to get it.

 

I tried again a few years later based off my memory and I managed to spend several hours making a beaded cylinder of what appeared to be a cat hairball studded with beads. I savagely attacked it with scissors and hid my unholy horror of a creation at the bottom of a trash bin.

20141011_210249

Turquoise of varying shades. I remade this one twice which is an incredible pain in the ass. But it was worth it.

When I was 17 and had moved away, I asked him to show me again. I was making simple jewelry now and figured I had developed enough hand/eye co-ordination to make it work.

 

My father sat me down again and showed me again how to do the weaving with the string and beads. And I again failed miserably. I could tell he was frustrated but I figured I was just too stupid to ever make it happen.

20141011_210150

Shark’s tooth. I remade this one twice too.

I tried for about a year after that. Every once in a while I would sit down with a newfound determination to make it work. But it never worked. I don’t know where that well-spring of stubbornness and determination even comes from. But it appears to be ever-lasting.

 

Sometime when I was 20 I was trying for my fourth or fifth time to make this wretched thing work. It is so complicated and you have to hold your hands just so and it was one of those situations that felt so alien and awkward.

 

And then, for some reason, I did it backwards. I don’t know how I thought of it. Most likely, I had simply forgotten my father’s original instruction and just decided to make it up as I went (a common theme in my life). And it worked. I don’t know why, but it just worked.

20141011_210302

Tibetan silver and copal. I especially like this one as it has amber in it and kyanite and a sterling silver dime as a clasp.

I thought maybe my father had been telling me how to do it from his perspective which would have been backwards for me and therefore I had been doing it backwards all these years which is why it hadn’t worked. But no. Doing it backwards was what worked for me.

I started making necklaces. They have changed over time in a way that is so obvious it is like carbon dating the layers of sediment in stone. I can look at something I made and know exactly when it is from.

 

I eventually showed my brother the stitch. He does it backwards too.

20141011_210320

Here is a very simple one. Tibetan quartz and silver.

Even though the three of us use the same technique, same materials, same style. Our pieces are as distinctly different as our personalities.

30 thoughts on “My Crafting Adventures: Jewelry

  1. There’s much to be said about finding your own way of doing things. Like many crafts, I have to adjust it so that it works for me… which doesn’t mean that anyone else would find it easy doing it the way I do!

    You’re pieces are beautiful 🙂

  2. The shark tooth was a great looking piece. Good for you to find something you are passionate about but more importantly finding your own way.

  3. Interesting to learn that your Dad made/makes jewellery. I’m glad you persevered. My favourite is the last – the quartz and silver. I don’t usually adorn myself, but if I do, it’s the quieter pieces that I wear.

  4. Holy shit. Your jewelry is stunning! I LOVE how you got good when you figured out how to do it your way. I’m going to check out your etsy site. I’m cahrazy for original, unique jewelry. You’re such a bad-ass and you don’t even know it. 🙂

    • I really cant explain it. It’s a weave that you work in a clockwise pattern but I do mine counter clockwise. It’s a form of micro macrame. I’d really have to draw you a diagram or send you a video or something. I’d love to see your jewelry!

      • No, I get it. I suppose if you’re using non-wire it would have to be woven not to fall apart. My jewelry is just assembling beads, you know? I’ll email a couple of pictures. I haven’t kept up with it.

      • I do everything, wiring, macrame, wire wrapping, simple beading with knots. It all counts. I think it is more about the stones than the technique for me personally.

  5. Is the special stitch the part of the necklace that looks like a spiral chain? I’m loving it!

    PS – I’ve never felt comfortable wearing “statement pieces” that have large pendants and such, but I LOVE looking at them on other people. I guess it’s kind of like hats – I think some people (like my daughter) look fabulous in them – but I always look incredibly geeky and stupid. I’ve come to terms with it, but it still makes me a little sad.

    PPS — I need to talk to you about wire wrapping. I want to do that with some of the fused glass jewelry I make.

    • Yes, it is a stitch that is part of the piece. I actually think I look really good in hats. Mostly because it hides my terrible hair. Let’s talk about wire wrapping…

Leave a Reply

