Seattle: Mt Rainier

This is probably going to be my last post about Seattle. More happened, but I feel like I am getting boring. So I’ll be back to my normal vaginas and vomit stories soon. But this story wants to be told. I can’t stop thinking about it.

 

My sister rented a car to drive me up to see Mt. Rainier. All the pictures in this post are my own (sadly, taken with my phone). I have never been on a mountain before. I have only ever even seen a mountain once in real life.

 

You can see Mt. Rainier from Seattle. It felt so weird, to see this giant thing looming in the background of the city. It was like a sentinel watching over us.

 

20140606_170445

Fun fact about Seattle: blackberries are everywhere you look, growing like weeds.

 

Driving up to it, I started freaking out. We took a bunch of back roads through smaller cities. It was the most beautiful day out. It was low humidity, cool weather, no clouds. Just a perfect day.

 

20140606_132028

Looks like a postcard.

 

It didn’t look real to me. It looked like it was a painted backdrop  on a movie set. My mind was having a really hard time processing this giant pile of earth. I was afraid of it. What was keep it all up there like that? Florida barely has hills, let alone mountains.

 

There were all these meadows on our drive. We opened the windows and could hear bees humming. Tiny yellow flowers were growing everywhere. And it smelled like sweetgrass and sage and lavender. I was in love with that moment of perfection.

 

20140606_113548

Just one of those perfect days you never forget…

 

I felt like I could take a deep breath for the first time in my life.  The air smelled and felt so good. It was a strange kind of high. In Florida, with the humidity and heat, it tends to feel like breathing through a warm, wet towel.

 

The closer we got to the mountain, the more I started freaking out. I could not believe it was real.  I think I said three things over and over the whole day.

 

“It looks so fake!”

 

“It looks like Lord of the Rings!”

 

“It looks painted on.”

 

We drove up and up through dark green forests of moss covered trees. It was cool and wet and everything was almost blindingly green. The road we were on was closed during the colder months.  Pollen drifted through the air like snow flakes falling.

20140606_120756

I went floating in a similar river the following day.

 

It was startling to see the look out points. The valley was so far below. The curving road seemed unimaginably dangerous. The guardrails were laughably insufficient. I was not used to being so high up.

 

20140606_135613

Yeah, one wheel slip and we would have died. Fuck those roads.

 

It was still in the 70s near the top of the mountain. We stopped when we saw snow. It was still piled high on either side of the road. I had never seen so much snow. I have only seen it twice before.

 

20140606_141225

Snow!

 

We got out of the car and in the silence of the mountain you could hear water dripping and falling in waterfalls as the snow banks melted and ran down the river. It was so loud, echoing through the distance.

 

 

20140606_140217(0)

We nearly fucking died climbing up this bank to get glasses of waterfall to drink.

 

I got out and began carefully walking through a snow drift on the side of the road. I immediately fell on my ass. I don’t know how to walk in snow. My sister got out and I scooped up a handful of snow and threw it at her. Then another at our rented car. She and I had a small snowball fight.

 

We drove further up and played some more. I found where they had cleared away snow from a public bathroom. It must have been 8 feet high still, carved out around this building. And I was still comfortable in a t-shirt and jeans.

 

20140606_123742

I really cant believe I was even there to see all this.

 

The whole day was surreal. I can still hardly believe that it all actually exists. That mountain is still there, even though I am back in Florida.

20140606_125215

It really did look like LOTR.

24 thoughts on “Seattle: Mt Rainier

  1. I’ve never been to Seattle, but it looks gorgeous. Crazy that you’re not used to snow and mountains! I’m in the Ozark Mountains and I feel SO WEIRD when we drive through Kansas – super flat and just feels wrong. I feel about the ocean the way you feel about mountains.

    • Yeah, I grew up on both coasts of Florida so the Gulf and the Atlantic are like, whatevs, boring. I think we can both agree on Kansas, though. What a weird looking place.

  2. I am sure it is an adventure you will never forget! Can’t believe you were still comfortable in shorts and a t-shirt. Can’t imagine that being the case here in Massachusetts! Great pics. 🙂

    • I have and will ALWAYS want to go on a quest! I think I would be great at questing. Despite how awful I am about travel. I’m just going to delude myself.

  3. How you feel about mountains is the way I feel about Florida – it’s so FLAT and there are trees and undergrowth EVERYWHERE – it’s downright claustrophobic and you can’t really see where you are going. I’ve always felt like anyplace in Florida is a perfect body-dumping ground – there is so much vegetation that you could literally just throw a body from your car and it would probably never be discovered (especially after the wildlife got done with it). It occurs to me that perhaps I shouldn’t dwell so much on how to dispose of a body (or at least not talk about it in public).

    PS – I LOVED this post! You were so descriptive that I felt like I was right there – smelling, feeling, and seeing everything. And your pictures!!! They were beautiful and looked like a professional had taken them!

  4. Absolutely breathtaking.

    It’s not like nature and natural beauty is purposely ignored by us — well, some of us — but we seem to momentarily “forget” about it. Seeing such monstrous beauty from a distance and actually going there is just a simplistic slap-in-the-face reminder that we need to stop focusing so much on ourselves, forgetting about what we have around us.

    Fuckin’ blackberries … We call them “crackberries” up here, they suck our attention away.

    What a wonderful post.

    • Thank you! I am very good about being present and appreciating the beauty around me. I think it is to do with almost dying. I keep expecting it to wear off, but it never does.

  5. Pingback: Sisterhood | Cursitivity

Leave a Reply

