Seattle: Portland Addition

My second day in Seattle, we took the bus to Portland. Remember when I mentioned that I was a pain in the ass to travel with? Well, it was a four hour bus ride and I was car sick the whole way. Even after taking my nausea pills.

 

Watch these two cities battle it out!

 

It was nice to have so much down time to really talk to my sister. But the very first thing I did in Portland was find a bush to vomit into. A kind lady stopped to ask if I was okay. Portland’s a friendly city.

 

Portland is beautiful. And interesting. But I honestly did not have a great time there. I don’t blame the city. I was tired and cranky and sick. My sister and I only knew a few things to do. And we had no car, which meant a lot of walking. Which made me even more cranky. Yes, I am the worst.

 

But J and I did meet up with Dave from Dave’s Corner of the Universe. He is another one of my blogger friends. And if you like sci-fi or comics and don’t read him then you are  missing out. His blog is genius. Seriously, genius.

 

We ate at a food truck and then went to Powell’s books. I don’t even know how long we were in there. Hours. It was huge and amazing and there were so many freakin’ books!

 

It’s three stories and one city block!

 

After Powell’s J and I walked down to Voodoo Doughnuts. I don’t know quite how to say this, so I am going to get it out fast. I hate doughnuts. And pastries, pies, cakes, and candy. I have no excuse for myself. I really only like chocolate.

I laughed for like 5 minutes over their slogan.

But these doughnuts were like eating baby unicorns in a rainbow sauce of sunshine and happiness. It was like Lisa Frank all up in my mouth.

 

Don’t act like you were too cool for Lisa Frank. Check out this brunette Pegasus!

 

 

 

I had the maple bacon bar and the Mexican hot chocolate. And a taste of J’s roommates apple fritter.

 

 

 

Oh my god, get in my mouth, doughnut!

I had seriously eaten one bite of the maple bacon bar and I wanted to go back inside and buy a second one. But unfortunately the line was too long and we couldn’t wait forever.

 

This is why it’s called Voodoo Doughnuts.

 

Because we had to go see Mill Ends Park! Please read about it on wikipedia. It is one of my favorite things ever. It is the world’s smallest public park. And I loved it.

 

20140605_161418

So adorable!

 

By this point we had barely enough time to eat dinner and catch the bus home. I took my back pain meds as I was ready to lay down in the street and die by this point in the day.


I slept the whole way back to J’s place.

14 thoughts on “Seattle: Portland Addition

  1. I wish I had your feelings about pastries! I would like to try Voodoo Doughnuts sometime, but my sister and I have not yet managed to make it by there together when I visit her in Eugene (two hours south of Portland).

    That Lisa Frank reference made me chuckle.

  2. When I was a kid, I couldn’t even eat a whole donut — they were just too sweet. Now I can eat like, four…maybe even five. It’s depressing, but delicious!

    Living in the Southwest, I find the Northwest to be almost alarmingly green and wet. Beautiful — but I just don’t know how to deal with all the vegetation!

  3. Really enjoyed meeting yo and your sister. I had a great time when you were down. In fact I think I am going back to Powell’s to get a book I saw when we were there. Hope you can make it back sometime in the future.

  4. Pingback: Vomiting at Disney | Cursitivity

Leave a Reply

