Seattle: Part 1

I’m back from vacation and from my blogging hiatus. And I have some stories to tell you while they are still fresh in my mind. Be warned: you may see me in a different light after the next few posts.

 

Straight off let me say, I am a bad traveller. I get anxiety. I get motion sickness on any moving piece of machinery. I have a bad back and can hardly get comfortable at home where I bought everything specifically for my back. I don’t like interacting with or touching strangers. And I don’t like wearing bras or pants. Luckily, I have drugs that help all that.

 

As a result, I don’t travel much and am a total pain in the ass when I do. But I desperately miss my little sister and was ready to brave airports, planes, buses, trains, and shitty mattresses to see her.

 

The flight both there and home were absolutely miserable and not even in a way that I can make funny so I’ll skip it. Except that I tried to board the wrong plane and was actually embarrassed walking past all the people waiting in line.

 

I got to my sister, J’s place at midnight. I was so tired from travelling that I barely spoke to her and went straight to sleep.

 

The next morning the bright sun was shining in my face. I couldn’t understand why I didn’t feel rested. It had to be 8am. I checked the time. It was just after 5am.

 

What the fuck was going on? I texted my sister. Why is it so bright out?!

 

Apparently the sun rises at 5am and sets at 9pm in the summer in Seattle. Who knew?

 

Despite having no sleep on an uncomfortable bed, I was the most cheerful person in the city that morning. And every morning, actually. Apparently nobody smiles or behaves friendly in the city. At least not to J.

 

We took a bus to Capital Hill to go to J’s favorite coffee shop. When we got on the bus, I walked up to a pleasant looking blonde girl and said “I’m going to sit next to you.”

 

She laughed and said “okay.”

 

I don’t know how bus etiquette works. I was fascinated by everything and in an amazingly good mood. It was beautiful. Low humidity, bright sunlight, cool weather.

 

Seriously, this is the most beautiful city.

 

 

I started asking J all kinds of questions. I wanted to sit in the middle seats where the bus joined. They looked fun and bendy. Then I asked if I could pull the cord for our stop.

 

The girl next to me pulled out her headphones (90% of the people in the city were wearing headphones, no matter where we went) and asked “Have you never been on a bus before?”

 

I told her, “I’m from Florida. Only crazy people take the bus. And people with too many DUIs.”

 

I got to pull the cord and at our stop we took the rear exit. My sister got off the bus and the bus driver immediately closed the doors.

 

I was shocked. I said aloud, “Oh god! What do I do? I’m trapped forever!” Everyone on the bus started cracking up and my sister turned and looked at me, confused.

 

I had visions of having to get off at the next stop and being lost in the city and trying to find her again.

 

Luckily someone realized that I genuinely didn’t know what to do and shouted “Back door!” at the driver before the bus drove off.

 

We got to Capital Hill, which is apparently the gay district. It was amazing. There were adverts for drag shows and gay couples actually holding hands in public. I loved it.

 

Her favorite coffee shop was Kaladi Brothers Coffee. If you are ever in Washington State it is worth going to. This was seriously the best coffee I have ever had in my entire life. It was so smooth and incredible. We went back almost every day and one day I even ordered a double (which had 4 shots of espresso).

 

 

So many windows too!

 

We walked around the city for a bit. The city was beautiful. There were flowers everywhere. I stopped to check to see if they were real and a bee flew out into my face. I amused many strangers in the city that day.

 

She took me to Pike’s Place. It was right on the water and still early enough that most of the vendors weren’t set up. By this point of the day I had already done more walking than I normally do.

 

20140604_091519

The view from Pike Place.

 

The booths were beautiful and it felt like fall in Florida. I had a molasses cookie and fresh apple cider. There were fresh picked flowers for sale. And I sat on the Pike Place pig.

 

20140604_093442

Bet you never thought you’d see a pic of me riding a giant brass piggy bank. This was pre-haircut.

 

20140604_091816

They didn’t even look real.

 

This is the same place that has the famous Pike Place Fish Co. They throw the fish. It was cool.

 

I was a little worried about getting hit with a fish.

 

For lunch we had Takos Chukis. I got three baby burritos. Again, if you are ever in Washington, go there. They were the best fucking things I have ever had in my mouth. I went there twice on my visit.

 

Oh my god! These are heaven. I want to eat nothing but them from now on.

 

I also got to see the disgusting gum wall.

 

20140604_114442

It almost touched me. Ew.

 

And I got my hair cut by a Drag Queen he/she was the premiere Cher impersonator in the Pacific Northwest. I got me an adorable haircut. I was feeling pretty shaggy and gross in such a hip city. Which by the way, everyone up there is young, hip, thin, and gorgeous. I did not fit in at all. I was disturbed by how few old people were around.
My sister and I decided to “street harass” men by telling them when we thought they were hot. There are a lot of ot men in Seattle. But I happen to go for beards, glasses and hipsters. So, we talked to a lot of hottie guys on my visit. It started as both a way to open up and be more friendly (which we both need) but it turned out to be a lot of fun.

 

Basically the sexy face of Seattle. Beard, visible tattoos, hotness. The girls were hot too, but they didn’t have beards. Lots of dyed hair, though.

 

Stay tuned next post for more of my travelling adventures.

 

20140604_114304

Random graffiti wall near the gum wall.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Seattle: Part 1

  1. A friend of mine is from seattle and she always had green or pink hair, and she has around 20 tattoos.

    I’ve never met anyone from Seattle I didn’t like, but I will say they’re an odd bunch 🙂

  2. I was wondering how your trip was going. Glad you are back in one piece and comfy in your own bed. Gum wall? Sounds cool but disgusting! Those tacos or burritos look amazing. There is a place here that makes the most amazing shrimp tacos with tons of cilantro. YUM! Looking forward to reading more about your trip. 😉

  3. I think I need to move to this magical place.

    However I did lol at your bus adventures!!!

    Glad you went and glad you’re back – welcome home 🙂

  4. Looks like you had a great time – you have already done more in Seattle than me and I have been twice – I’m looking up the coffee shop and the taco place for sure. I LOVE Pikes market although I failed to get a picture of myself on the pig 😦 Seattle WAS weirdly chock full of young attractive people (my parents live in Florida and I know what you mean about riding busses out there…just…don’t.) Glad you had a good time – looking forward to more stories

  5. Pingback: Seattle: Portland Addition | Cursitivity

  6. Pingback: My Crafting Adventures: The L Word Birthday Miracle | Cursitivity

Leave a Reply

