Adventures in Blogging

I’m doing a picture heavy post today:

 

I had an adventure with the lovely and hilarious Debbie from morethansweetpotatoes. If you haven’t read her blog, go read it. And if you are a dude in South Florida, step up your game. She is awesome.

 

As I have previously mentioned, I am not very funny in person. Mostly just awkward. But I gave her fair warning so she knew what to expect.

 

We met at an animal sanctuary called Arnold’s Wildlife Rehabilitation Center. I warned her that the drive in was down a bunch of creepy back roads. But then you turn a corner and it is like some kind of children’s movie with deer and peacocks and butterflies.

If you live near here, please take the trip.

If you live near here, please take the trip.

 

I know there are a lot of jokes about all the bugs in Florida. It’s love bug season here right now. There were so many that one flew into my open mouth while I was singing. A second one splattered on my glasses. And yes, I do have a windshield.

 

The carnage.

The carnage.

 

This place is in the middle of a bunch of cow farms and dilapidated buildings that look like something out of a horror movie. Debbie is a very brave and adventursome woman. I don’t think I would have been willing to meet up with an internet stranger in the middle of nowhere. Especially after all my serial killer jokes.

 

Yeah... This was a gun shop on my way there.

Yeah… This was a gun shop on my way there.

 

 

And miles and miles of this as far as you can see. Perfect murdering conditions.

And miles and miles of this as far as you can see. Perfect murdering conditions.

 

But once you get there. It is a crazy zoo of animals roaming free. Mostly exotic. I took lots of pictures.

 

There were about 15 peacocks all doing their awesome cry. If you haven’t heard it, please look it up. It’s kind of disturbing and kick-ass.

 

He was kind of pissy, actually.

He was kind of pissy, actually.

 

 

He kept hugging his tail. I think he had anxieties.

He kept hugging his tail. I think he had anxieties.

 

This guy looked like a muppet.

This guy looked like a muppet.

 

We weren’t allowed to pet any of the animals as they apparently ALL bite. But after asking, we were allowed to bottle feed two adorable fawns!

I just wanted to squeeze it to death!

I just wanted to squeeze it to death!

 

Debbie’s seemed to prefer suckling my finger to drinking it’s bottle. Maybe my finger tastes amazing. I don’t know.

 

Then we drove out to Lake Okeechobee and picked our way down through the rocks to touch the lake. I am not very graceful and I have terrible balance. I looked more like a drunken giraffe stumbling my way down. I even had to get on all fours at one point to avoid potentially killing myself.

 

Lake Okeechobee selfie with Debbie.

Lake Okeechobee selfie with Debbie.

And after that we had some BBQ. Which I am obsessed with. So it was a pretty perfect day.

 

PS I was so tempted to name this post ‘Debbie does Lake Okeechobee.’ You’re welcome.

 

27 thoughts on “Adventures in Blogging

  1. Seems like you had a fun day. I followed Debbie, so she better be entertaining. Or else… [Dun. Dun. Dunnnnn.]

    …Yeah. That’s more than a “nothing” kind of “or else.” I’ve got nothing, and that’s especially true about coffee. That needs to be had. Hope you had a wonderful weekend in buggy Florida (that’s a high body count on that car). Coffee time!

    Fun Young-Chris-Goes-To-The-Zoo fact: Once little Chris took a rock and threw it at the lion cage, successfully beaning the lion in the noggin and above the middle of his eyes. Lion jumps up and roars incredibly loud, scares patrons, and I’m sure some kids may have relieved themselves in their pants. I never harmed an animal since… except insects… the magnifying glasses got the best of them.

  2. First of all, wtf? I thought I was following your blog and wondered why you hadn’t posted lately. I came over to see and saw that I wasn’t following!! My stupid bad.

    I was laughing after reading this picturing you stumbling down the rocks like a drunken giraffe. LOL.

    • Hahaha! That’s okay. I got the follow email and I was like, what the hell? She is ALWAYS over here commenting how was she NOT following me? I was flattered.

  3. First: love this. I’m still really happy this happened! Second: I wish I had taken pictures of the green house and the random shack on my way there. Third: I haven’t looked at the front of my car. I’m avoiding it. Getting the car washed after work today!

    I love your post! Thanks for the shout out!

    • I just got mine washed. We could always go back and take more creepy pictures. We could start a whole new blog of just creepy pictures from rural Florida.

  4. Pingback: My Crafting Adventures: The L Word Birthday Miracle | Cursitivity

  5. Pingback: Adventures in Blogging: Debbie does Deerfield Beach | Cursitivity

Leave a Reply

