Tattoos

My brother T, sister J, and I had all agreed we would get matching tattoos when we were growing up. I kind of forgot about the agreement as I figured none of us would be able to agree on an image.

 

My brother went to Europe for a summer when I was 20-ish. When he came back he had a tattoo. As soon as J and I saw it, we knew it was the one. J went out and got hers immediately.

 

But I hesitated. I didn’t know where to get it, or what color. And then I was suddenly 26 and having heart surgery and taking blood thinners and was not allowed to get any tattoos.

 

So, now, I am no longer on blood thinners and not in any danger from my health issues.

 

I took a week off work this week (which has been amazing). On Wednesday, I was hanging out with my brother, T, and casually mentioned that I finally had a few days off and could go get my tattoos. I have had two planned out for over a year.

 

T told me that he had the card of a tattoo artist that only booked appointments with people that were referred by people he already worked with. We happened to be less than a mile away.

 

We met with the artist, A, who was extremely cool and friendly. And I scheduled to come back the next day.

 

I was finally going to get my first tattoo. I was so excited that the adrenaline started hurting my veins. I started feeling nauseous and couldn’t sleep Wednesday night.

 

But I got them done on Thursday. So here they are.

 

The first is a heartbeat. Not just any heartbeat. It is MY first heartbeat after my last heart surgery. It was my first ECG with a normal heartbeat. I have wanted this one for almost two years.

20140328_182634 - Copy

Love!

 

 

The second is the one that my brother and sister also have. It is an ouroboros from Fullmetal Alchemist, which is a manga TV show that my brother is really into. I like the show too. But more so, I like ouroboros. They are heavily associated with ancient mythology and alchemy. They are supposed to symbolize the cyclical nature of life.

 

How impressively  freckle-y am I? And I am not even the freckle-y one in he family!

How impressively freckle-y am I? And I am not even the freckle-y one in he family!



I am already planning my next ones. Probably Harry Potter and LOTR related.

 

I expected it to hurt a lot more than it did. I was so nervous and freaking out. I was actually shaking! I know after having heart surgery you would think it would be no big deal.

The one on my wrist at worst felt like being stung by a hornet. The one on my back actually tickled in a few places. And I love the way the vibrations from the tattoo gun were reverberating in my chest. Afterwards, it just felt warm. And now it doesn’t hurt at all.

 

Sorry for not posting something more interesting, but I am excited about them. Also, did I mention being on vacation?

14 thoughts on “Tattoos

  1. Oooooooohhhhhh I LOVE YOUR TATTOOS. Fullmetal, too! We have another thing in common! I haven’t watched a ton of animes (and haven’t watched one in quite awhile) but I absolutely loved Fullmetal. To the point of distraction =P
    And your heartbeat one is so cool and inspiring!
    I still need an HP tattoo and an LOTR tattoo myself. HP i’m thinking about getting a doe patronus and possibly some phrase from the letter between Lily and Snape (from the books). We’ll see. LOTR I have no clue on… I would likely get one related to Galadriel…

    • Thanks! I really love them. I think a patronus would be adorable. I was thinking footprints from the Marauder’s Map for my HP one. But I have no idea what to do for LOTR. Maybe something from a map too. I was thinking how cool it would also be to get some actual alchemy symbols.

  2. I’ve got a couple of wimpy tattoos — a butterfly on my ankle and a simple heart on my boob. I’ve been thinking for a long time about getting a tattoo to cover the scar I have on my back from my scoliosis surgery. It goes from mid-shoulders to my hips — so it would be big, expensive, and I’ve heard scar covers are painful. I just don’t know if, at my age, I can justify it — it’s not like I’m going to be wearing backless gowns to the ball anymore.

    I like the fact that your tattoos MEAN something — I mean, I like butterflies and hearts, but they don’t really have a story behind them.

    • No tattoos are wimpy! I love hearts and butterflies. I was thinking it would be cool to do an anatomical heart all scarred up from my heart surgeries. But then again, I do have some actual scars from it (on my actual heart too!). I have to say, I think scars are pretty interesting and can be very sexy. More sexy than tattoos sometimes.

  3. I love the heartbeat! A simple tattoo with a powerful story, it’s brilliant.
    And so cool to having a matching tat with your brother and sister – I wish my brother and sister would be down with us getting a matching one.

Leave a Reply

