Brains

I was listening to NPR the other day and I heard a story on my favorite program, RadioLab. They were discussing a study that showed that your brain knows what you are going to do before you yourself consciously do.

 

Before you even realize you are going to eat another cookie; your brain is sending a signal to your hand to reach for it. Then, once you have decided to have that cookie, your body is already reaching for it.

 

It’s weird to think about that. I don’t like the idea of my brain making decisions and sending signals without me. (Not that it takes some great genius to know that I’m going to eat another cookie).

 

I already knew my brain was keeping secrets from me. Like the name of the person I just met 7 seconds ago. Or what I had for dinner last night.

 

But this feels different. Like my brain is out there doing things without my permission. Like it is some sentient being.

How does it know? I don’t know things myself for so long sometimes. I feel like my brain is sitting up there all smug. Watching me struggle to make up my mind and figure out how I feel. When it already knows what I am going to do.

6 thoughts on “Brains

  1. I spend a fair amount of time thinking about my “mind” and I’m pretty sure it’s full of tricksy little elves that think it’s absolutely hilarious to hide things from me, set booby traps, and send me in stupid directions.

  2. Pingback: Group Therapy: December « HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.

  3. Pingback: Group Therapy: December - Aussa Lorens

Leave a Reply

