Comic book love

When I was 10, we lived a few short blocks away from a comic book store. I don’t remember how I first got into comics. I think it was most likely my brother. Whenever we had any spare change we would walk down and buy whatever we could afford.

 

The owners never made me feel strange for wanting to hang out in there. I didn’t appreciate it then, but I do now. It never occurred to me that it would be weird for me to be in there. It is only as a grown woman that I have been made to feel unwelcome in a comic book store, and at comic book conventions.

 

But back then, I was just hanging out with my brother. We bought comics. We discussed the relative merits of different superheroes. We were both really into Marvel, most likely because of that old X-Men cartoon. Do you guys remember that? It always seemed really focused on Jubilee even though she was the lamest, most boring one.

marvel comic book

One of my favorites. I wish I still had it.

Anyway, we both had this brilliant collection of Marvel trading cards. They were my most prized possession. I don’t even know what happened to it.

Marvel cards

I had the vast majority of these suckers

My second most prized possession during that time was this baseball cap. I have no idea where it came from. It was white with a blue brim. It had wolverine embroidered on it.

wolverine

Exactly this image

I loved that hat. I wore it every single day over the summer between 5th and 6th grade. The white got dingy and dirty. And the brim started smelling like a wet dog collar.

 

I only took it off to shower. I think I even slept in it  a few times.

 

Unfortunately, my mother decided that I wore it too often. And so, tragically, she confiscated it and threw it away.

 

It was heart breaking.

 

But I never lost my love of comics. I still read them, I still collect them. I still discuss the relative merits of different superheroes.

And I still really wish I had that hat.

3 thoughts on “Comic book love

  1. My brothers read tons of comics when we were little… like, they were everywhere. I’m not sure why I never really got into them… I remember occasionally reading X-Men but the main things that are sticking out to me right now are Ren and Stimpy and Sonic the Hedgehog… so, I’m just going to go bury my head now.

  2. I read a ton in general. I will read literally anything as long as it isn’t about sports, finances, or romance. It was only a matter of time before I got into comics. Looking back, I can see now that they are absolutely sexist. So don’t feel bad. They are 100% aimed at young white males. But I cant help loving them. I’ve moved way beyond Marvel at this point. I’m sure I could recommend some that you’d like. There are some incredible online comics and independent comics these days. Even some not sexist ones.

  3. Pingback: Going Rogue | Some Nerd Girl

Leave a Reply

